CCC Sharar Foundation Annual Meeting and Election of Officers



Paul B. Sharar Foundation logoThe Annual Meeting of the Clinton Community College Paul B. Sharar Foundation was held recently with a recognition of members of the Chancellor’s Society, and the President’s and Deans’ Clubs.

Sharar Foundation Chairman Bill Vetter welcomed the group by thanking them for their support and interest, and commenting, “Not only is ‘Community’ our middle name, it defines who we are and provides marching orders for what we do every day.” Vetter gave an overview of the Sharar Foundation support of college students, staff and faculty, and programs including $174,800 in scholarships in 2017-18, High School Equivalency (HiSET) funding for graduates of the program, Educational Grants for employees as they continue their education, Emergency Book funding, and donations totaling $970,000 toward the renovation of the CCC Library in 2016.

The work of the year was highlighted and celebrated during the event which included testimonials from Clinton Community College students Nigelle Whitaker and Aaron Betts, in addition to CCC Instructors John & Martha Bonte who have established a new scholarship for CCC students.
Clinton Community College President Dr. Karen Vickers recognized and appreciated the work of the Sharar Foundation Board of Directors and the donors. Dr. Vickers highlighted employee involvement in the community, growth of enrollment, student success and community service of both students and employees. She announced that CCC has been named one of Iowa’s Top Workplaces for the sixth consecutive year. Dr. Vickers also thanked donors for their support of scholarships both new and ongoing. Since 1984, nearly $3.2 million in scholarships has been awarded to 3,481 CCC students.

Three new scholarships were established in 2017 including:

  • John L. & Martha K. Bonte Scholarship with preference given to a non-traditional student majoring in a Science, Humanities, or Social Sciences program, with a goal of transfer for a BA or BS degree upon completion of the Associates Degree, demonstrating a commitment to their education as evidenced by a successful GPA.

  • Tallman-Lewis VFW Post 9664 Scholarship with preference given to students who are dependents of military families, or military recruits, demonstrating financial need. Two scholarships will be awarded to students from Camanche and Clinton High Schools.

  • Dr. Alan R. & Myrna J. Petersen Tubbs Scholarship with preference given to non-traditional Clinton Community College student enrolled in a program to learn a trade or skill that will lead to employment.


The Business Meeting included the Secretary’s Report, presented by Vetter, and the Treasurer’s Report, presented by Lynn McGraw. Retiring Board members Ed Cannon, Bruce Christensen, Kristen Naeve, and Ruthann Papke were recognized. Jerry Kedley, Investment Representative with Edward Jones, was recognized for 30 years of service and was elected as an Honorary Board Member.

New Sharar Foundation Board Members include:

  • Gary DeLacy, Clinton Community School District, Clinton, IA
  • Ann Reed, Clinton School Board & Jeff Reed State Farm Insurance, Clinton, IA
  • Abigail Rose, Clinton Back & Neck, Clinton, IA
  • Michelle Waltz, Medical Associates, Clinton, IA


Dr. Vickers presided over the Election of Officers:


President: Bill Vetter, Senior Vice President
DeWitt Bank & Trust, DeWitt, IA

Vice President: Chuck Duax, Representative
Farmers Insurance, Camanche, Iowa

Vice President, Amy Cavanaugh, Investment Representative
Finance & Investments: NelsonCorp Wealth Management
Clinton, IA

Treasurer: Lynn McGraw, CPA
McGraw Acct & Tax Service
Clinton, IA

Secretary: Stacy Milroy, Financial Analyst
Mercy Medical Center - Clinton
Clinton, IA

Past President: Art Ollie, Retired
Iowa State Legislature & Clinton Community School District
Clinton, IA


The Sharar Foundation Board of Directors includes:

Bryce Albrechtsen, Human Resource Manager
Archer Daniels Midland Company
Clinton, IA

Julie Allesee, City Council Member
City of Clinton
Clinton, IA

Jenny Boysen, Exec V-President & Operations
Clinton National Bank
Clinton, IA

Brian Donnelly, Attorney
Myer, Lonergan & Rolfes
Clinton, IA

Kelly Jergenson, Nurse Practitioner
Clinton, IA

Janis Johnson, Owner
JT Cullen Company
Fulton, IL

Dick Kissack, Retired
Clinton Community School District
Clinton, IA

Brenda Kunau, Retired
Clinton Community College
Preston, IA

Regina Lehman, Human Resource Director
Sethness Company
Clinton, IA

Amber Matthiesen, Jackson County Youth 4H Program Specialist & County Coordinator – ISU Extension
Maquoketa, IA

Gregg Mohl, Guidance Counselor
Northeast School District
Clinton, IA

Tom Parker, Superintendent
Camanche School District
Camanche, IA

Gina Schwartz, Nurse
Mercy Medical Center – Clinton
Clinton, IA

Sue Watkins, Office Manager
Temp Associates
Clinton, IA

For more information about the Paul B. Sharar Foundation, please call 563-244-7040.