CCC Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Induction


2017 PTK InducteesClinton Community College hosted the Induction Ceremony of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society on Tuesday, February 28, 2017.  Fifty-two members were inducted into the Alpha Theta Beta Chapter at CCC.  Students are invited to join Phi Theta Kappa if they have achieved a 3.5 grade point and earned 12 credit hours.   

CCC Phi Theta Kappa members Angela Ash and Jessica Fujiwara served as co-emcees for the Induction Ceremony.  CCC President Dr. Karen J. Vickers presented the keynote presentation on “Nostalgia,” the current Phi Theta Kappa national theme.  Dr. Vickers shared nostalgia from her own life as well as nostalgia from the 70 year history of Clinton Community College celebrated in 2016.  

Clinton Community College students Kimberlee McMichael and Bailee Shepherd were recognized at the annual Iowa banquet as All-Iowa Academic Team members. The students were nominated by CCC faculty and were recognized for their leadership in the classroom, on campus and in the community.  

The CCC Alpha Theta Beta Chapter received additional accolades for their quality work.  The REACH Award was presented to 422 chapters who have increased membership acceptance rate to 15 percent or higher during 2016. Alpha Theta Beta is one of thirteen chapters in Iowa to receive the award.

Phi Theta Kappa Advisors Gina Bielski, Jane Marlowe and Shirley Turnis received the Horizon Advisor Award for their efforts into reviving the CCC Alpha Theta Beta Chapter. The three advisors have been at the helm for four years and have seen growth in membership and involvement during those years.

In addition, Alpha Theta Beta chapter of PTK earned a 5-star status signifying a high level of involvement by students for their Honors in Action research project. Honors in Action is designed to engage honors students in actions that foster student success and help fulfill the two-fold mission to:

  • recognize and encourage scholarship in a lively exchange of ideas and
  • develop leaders who serve their communities

The project included interviewing CCC alum and collecting their nostalgic stories as part of the Clinton Community College 70th Anniversary in 2016.

Regional Coordinators nominate advisors to be recognized at the region’s awards ceremony for their contributions to regional and international programming.  Advisors with at least four or more years of service as of January 11, 2017 are recognized with the Distinguished Advisor Awards. An advisor may receive this award only once.  Award-winning advisors are those who make significant contributions to the growth of the individual members, serve as the chapter's advocate on campus, and encourage the chapter to be involved on the local, regional and/or international levels of the organization.  CCC Phi Theta Kappa Advisor Jane Marlowe received the award.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1,285 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, Peru, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. Nearly 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 131,000 students inducted annually.

Clinton Community College students inducted into Phi Theta Kappa include:

Camanche, IA

Claire Blinkinsop
Claire Kiester
Joshua Neymeyer
Jason Sharp
Kalley Stolts

Clinton, IA

Crystal Ammeter
Alexanderia Davis
Garett Eggers
Dianna Ehredt
Chelsea Ishmael
Madison Kruse
Katelyn Lantz
Kori Lippens
Madeline Marlowe
Jessica Medinger
Kyle Michaelsen
Veronica Perales
Perry Petersen
Jaime Rekenthaler
Taylor Lynn Runge
Allen Ryan
Clayton Spencer
Tara Vanzuiden
Jordin Witt
Christine Yttrie

De Witt, IA

Michelle Gereau
Aaron Betts
Danielle Hair
Taylor McGranahan

Low Moor, IA

Aveyone Norem

Maquoketa, IA

Catia Atienza
Xavier Pestana

Preston, IA

Jacinta Allee
Hunter Jensen
Shelley Lamar
Candace Middendorf
Wyatt Schmidt
Zachary Scott
Sara Smithson
Justin Webster

Sabula, IA

Cassandra Abernathy
Zach Marburger

Wheatland, IA

Brandon Snowbarger

Chadwick, IL

Ashlyn Shores

Fulton, IL

Troy Barnes
Kimberly Holland
Christian Hutchison
Brooke Smith
Dylan Temple

Morrison, IL

Krysta Mapes

Savanna, IL

Melissa Kirkland

San Diego, CA

Jacob Marshall