CCC Phi Theta Kappa Chapter Induction



The Clinton Community College Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society hosted a virtual induction ceremony Tuesday, March 9, 2021. Forty four members were inducted into the CCC Alpha Theta Beta Chapter.  Students are invited to join Phi Theta Kappa if they have achieved a 3.5 grade point and earned 12 credit hours.   

Phi Theta Kappa chapter officers Emma Zimmerman, Treasurer, and Payton Cernek, Secretary, served as the Masters of Ceremony.  Clinton Community College President Brian Kelly welcomed the attendees sharing congratulations to the students who have earned the opportunity to join Phi Theta Kappa.  CCC Instructor and Medical Assistant Campus Coordinator Amy Hartog spoke to the group on the PTK topic of the year, To the Seventh Generation; Inheritance & Legacy.  Hartog, a Guided Meditation Facilitator and instructor in yoga, pilates and aerobics, shared her knowledge of the topic and encouraged the students to focus on good health and to relax through physical exercise and meditation.

The Alpha Theta Beta Chapter Advisors are CCC Instructors Gina Bielski and Shirley Turnis, and Academic Advisor & Career Services Coordinator Rob Schadt.  The trio commented, "These students have worked hard to earn the opportunity to join Phi Theta Kappa. We are proud of each and every one of them!"  CCC President Brian Kelly agreed with the advisors and added praise for them stating, "Clinton Community College has a very strong PTK chapter, led by passionate leader/educators. We are excited to welcome a new cohort of hard-working students to continue our tradition of academic excellence."

The CCC chapter has earned 5-start status signifying a high level of involvement by students. This includes an on-campus project. During the year, the Alpha Theta Beta Chapter has completed several projects including collecting Alumni memories, a little lending library, sending more than 1,000 holiday cards to our military troops, and handing out stress relief bags to students and faculty during finals, upkeep with the pollinator garden, and pizza & bake sales. The chapter is also a REACH chapter, a designation for the high number of eligible students joining the organization.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1,200 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, and Japan. Scholarships totaling more than $36 million are offered annually to Phi Theta Kappa students. Nearly 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 131,000 students inducted annually.

Clinton Community College student Inductees into Phi Theta Kappa include:

Fall 2020 Inductees

Baldwin, IA

  • Megan Carbonelli


Calamus, IA

  • Alison Edens
  • Lauren Von Muenster


Camanche, IA

  • Courtland Filgo
  • Ashton Haskell


Clinton, IA

  • Keira Fullick
  • Adriana Gonzalez
  • Danielle Malone
  • Shania Mussmann
  • Tessa Anne Telford
  • Brian Witherspoon


De Witt, IA

  • Payton Cernek
  • Jaide Kueter
  • Jared Payne
  • Samantha Puck


Maquoketa, IA

  • Kyler Beidler
  • Amber Humphrey


Miles, IA

  • Evan Hansen
  • Coby Johnson
  • Cora Leonard


Preston, IA

  • Nicole Zeimet


Wheatland, IA

  • Kaylie Wilhelm


Colona, IL

  • Caitlyn Rasso


Fulton, IL

  • Grace Daley
  • Deidre Smith


Morrison, IL

  • Michael Melton


Savanna, IL

  • Zoe Schork

Spring 2021 Inductees

Bellevue, IA

  • Macy Heim


Bryant, IA

  • Melissa Holdgrafer


Camanche, IA

  • Rubie Blinkinsop
  • Emily Gregorich
  • Kamilla Jacobo


Clinton, IA

  • Jena Austin
  • Paige Bauer
  • Kristy Peska


De Witt, IA

  • Isaac Frett


Goose Lake, IA

  • Madison Martens

Maquoketa, IA

  • Gracie Blair
  • Peter Carlson
  • Jenna Wiebenga


Sabula, IA

  • Meyer Evan


Albany, IL

  • Ashley Maze


Fulton, IL

  • Adelie Mure-Ravaud
  • Trae Van Zuiden