CCC Phi Theta Kappa Spring Induction



Clinton Community College hosted the Induction Ceremony of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society on Tuesday, March 5, 2019. Fifty four members were inducted into the CCC Alpha Theta Beta Chapter. Students are invited to join Phi Theta Kappa if they have achieved a 3.5 grade point and earned 12 credit hours.

Phi Theta Kappa chapter co-president Maria Nichols and co-vice president Anna Kohl served as emcees for the Induction Ceremony. Clinton Community College Academic Advisor/ Disability Resource Provider/ Retention Specialist Marcia Larson spoke about on the PTK topic of the year – Food Insecurity. Marcia shared information about local students with food insecurity, and shared the idea and development of the CCC Cupboard which offers free food, toiletries, diapers, cleaning supplies, and bus passes to students. The CCC Cupboard receives donations from staff and faculty, students and community members.

The CCC Alpha Theta Beta Chapter is a 5-star chapter signifying a high level of involvement by students. This includes an on-campus project. During the year, the Alpha Theta Beta Chapter has completed several projects including collecting Alumni memories, a little lending library, sending more than 1,000 holiday cards to our military troops, and handing out stress relief bags to students and faculty during finals, upkeep with the pollinator garden, and pizza & bake sales. The chapter is also a REACH chapter, a designation for the high number of eligible students joining the organization.

PTK Induction group

Clinton Community College students Anna Kohl of Grand Mound, IA, Autumn Tharp of Clinton, IA, and Michael Bloomquist of Fulton, IL were recognized as All-Iowa Academic Team Members at the annual Iowa banquet. The students were nominated by CCC faculty and were recognized for their leadership in the classroom, on campus and in the community.

CCC Assistant to the President - Administration Karen Lueders was awarded the Distinguished College Administrator Award by Phi Theta Kappa International, an award recognizing just 25 college administrators who have given outstanding efforts to promote the goals of Phi Theta Kappa. Lueders has focused on support for Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society through:

  • Participation in Phi Theta Kappa Inductions,
  • Assistance to students and advisors attending PTK events and conferences,
  • Support of the Phi Theta Kappa projects such as the pollinator garden, the little lending library, cards and supplies to the troops, and fundraisers, and
  • Support of efforts for Phi Theta Kappa Alpha Theta Beta Chapter to achieve 5-star status.


Retired CCC Instructor and Phi Theta Kappa Advisor Jane Marlowe and Distinguished College Administrator honoree Karen Lueders were named honorary Phi Theta Kappa members for their service to the CCC chapter. Both were included in the induction ceremony.

Dr. Karen Vickers commented, “It is always wonderful to recognize the success of our students. Our PTK induction allows us to celebrate our students who are doing well in and out of the classroom. These students have earned their PTK membership through commitment to their studies. We are so proud of their accomplishments. This induction was especially special because in addition to recognizing the work of our students, we also recognized a campus project that has served students well, presented two people who have contributed so much to PTK with honorary memberships, and recognized Karen Lueders for her Distinguished College Administrator Award from PTK.”

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1,285 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, Peru, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. Nearly 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 131,000 students inducted annually.

Clinton Community College students inducted into Phi Theta Kappa include:

  • Baldwin, IA
    Sidney T. Michel

  • Bellevue, IA
    Toby J. Giesemann

  • Calamus, IA
    Carter R. Dwyer

  • Camanche, IA
    Natalie W. Goble
    Jaiden A. Goodman
    Seanna M. Lamberton
    Chloe E. Vogel
    Kendall E. Wright

  • Clinton, IA
    Julee A. Baker
    Luke D. Boyd
    MacKenzie A. Cady
    Colin Donnelly
    Shania M. Edens
    Leo H. Ernst
    Kaitlyn M. Evers
    Emma R. Ferguson
    Karlee R. Griswold
    Morgan L. Hines
    Joseph H. Housenga
    Eric M. Kershner
    Rachel R. Logan
    Derek D. Montague
    Tyler J. Mulholland
    Luana R. Rozante
    Sarah J. Simonson
    Matthew A. Stewart
    Conner P. Williams

  • Delmar, IA
    Ian C. Stetzel

  • DeWitt, IA
    Megan M. David
    Brianna M. Denton
    Isabelle H. Hawkins
    Taylor J. Zeimet

  • Maquoketa, IA
    Aldin B. Banghart
    Brianna K. Banowetz
    Nicholas E. Ehlinger
    Aziz Eshtrefi
    Jocelyn A. Martin
    Abraham J. Michel
    Cassandra J. Ruppert
    Chloe Swanson
    Rachel L. Vorbeck
    Genny L. Wallace

  • Sabula, IA
    Sadie A. Zaruba

  • Spragueville, IA
    Katie G. Foster

  • Wheatland, IA
    Serina L. Carpenter

  • Albany, IL
    Baylee S. Gooch

  • Fulton, IL
    Caitelynne K. Brashaw
    Samantha E. Carpenter
    Terra Easley
    Pierre B. Mure-Ravaud
    Shannon M. Sherman

  • Morrison, IL
    Lisette Lehman

  • Savanna, IL
    Gitselle Rodriguez Olvera

  • Thomson, IL
    Shaelynn M. Williams