CCC Phi Theta Kappa Induction and All Academic Team

The Alpha Theta Beta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa held an Induction Ceremony for 30 students. Clinton Community College President Dr. Karen Vickers, EICC Chancellor Dr. Don Doucette, and PTK Advisors Gina Bielski, Jane Marlowe and Shirley Turnis recognized the inductees.  CCC Instructor Martha Bonte spoke on the 2014 PTK topic of ‘Frontiers’ challenging those in attendance to explore frontiers, known and unknown, as they continue on their path. PTK Secretary Cindy Monkman served as emcee. Other officers of Phi Theta Kappa include Co-presidents: Misty Stillings and Brittany Mussmann, Vice President: Kristen Phillips, Reporter: Jeffrey Jordan, and Treasurer: Terri Kunde.

Back Row - Ron Serpliss, Rod Risley- Executive Director and CEO of Phi Theta Kappa, Misty Stillings Front Row – Shirley Turnis, Gina Bielski, Jane Marlowe
Back Row - Ron Serpliss, Rod Risley- Executive Director and CEO
of Phi Theta Kappa, Misty Stillings
Front Row – Shirley Turnis, Gina Bielski, Jane Marlowe

Spring 2014 Inductees:
Kenna Rauchenecker, Clinton, IA
Emily Buech, Bryant, IA
Vanessa Cannon, Clinton, IA
Makena Casey, Fulton, IL
Nicole DeLarm, Charlotte, IA
Janelle Dykstra, Thomson, IL
Traci Handel, Camanche, IA
Brandi Johnson, Maquoketa, IA
Zachary Knight, Clinton, IA
Jordyn Long, Camanche, IA
Elizabeth McClimon, Maquoketa, IA
Erika Miller, Clinton, IA
Jenna Pladna, Clinton, IA
Micahela M. Schmidt, Preston, IA
Traci Trenkamp, Preston, IA
Buchanan Waller, Maquoketa, IA

Fall 2013 Inductees:
Sharon Campbell, Clinton, IA
Bobby Cratton, Dubuque, IA
Pamela Espitia, Clinton, IA
Ashley Horst, Clinton, IA
Christine King, Clinton, IA
Emily Legal, Thomson, IL
Kathleen McManus, DeWitt, IA
Avery Mulholland, Clinton, IA
Madison Petersen, Preston, IA
Destiny Taplin, Bryant, IA
Jennifer Vilmont, Camanche, IA
Eric Williamson, Clinton, IA

Previous Inductees:
Jennifer Mann, Camanche, IA
Misty Stillings, Clinton, IA  

Clinton Community College students Misty Stillings of Clinton, IA & Jeffrey Jordan of Fulton, IL were recognized at the annual Iowa banquet as All-Iowa Academic Team members. The students were nominated by CCC faculty and were recognized for their leadership in the classroom, on campus and in the community. Both serve as tutors in the CCC Student Success Center, giving assistant to students in various subjects. 

Misty Stillings was also awarded the Coca-Cola Bronze Scholarship. Selection as a Coca-Cola Bronze Scholar was based on scores the student earned in the All-USA Community College Academic Team competition, for which more than 1,700 applications were received this year.  The Coca-Cola All-State Academic Team Scholarship Program is made possible with funding from the Joseph B. Whitehead Foundation. The Whitehead Foundation provides grants in support of human services initiatives, particularly organizations and programs that benefit young people. The late Joseph B. Whitehead was one of the original bottlers of Coca-Cola.

PTK Advisors Shirley Turnis, Gina Bielski and Jane Marlowe were nominated for the Horizon Award Award by Sima Dabir, Iowa Regional Coordinator. The Horizon Award recognizes new advisors who participate in regional and international programs, and also recognizes more experienced advisors who have attained new levels of achievement in Phi Theta Kappa programs.  The Horizon Award certificate was presented for the chapter’s work with promoting the Iowa Regional Honors in Action project which is building a school in Togo, Africa. The Alpha Theta Beta chapter is donating proceeds from food/bake sales and a "Team Togo" t-shirt, designed by PTK member Misty Stillings, to raise more funds for the school construction.

Clinton Community College Dean Ron Serpliss was recognized as a Phi Theta Kappa Distinguished College Administrator.  The Distinguished College Administrator Award is given to college vice presidents, deans, or leaders other than college presidents/CEOs serving in an administrative capacity who have demonstrated a strong level of support for Phi Theta Kappa. The PTK Advisors commented, “Ron demonstrates the commitment needed to grow Phi Theta Kappa on campus and to improve from a 1-star to a 4-star chapter.  He provides support and encouragement to our students so that they will continue their academic success.”

Clinton Community College President Dr. Karen Vickers commented, "We are so proud of the accomplishments of our students.  All of our PTK students have worked to succeed in their studies at CCC.  Misty and Jeffery stood out because of their success in the classroom as well as in activities on campus and we were excited to be able to nominate them for the Academic Team.  Misty’s Coca-Cola Scholarship award speaks to her outstanding efforts and accomplishments in her studies. We were so honored to be able to celebrate this recognition with her.  All of the work with our students in PTK has been possible because of the commitment and dedication of our faculty advisors and Dean of the College.  Because of this, we were thrilled to see that both the advisors and Ron Serpliss were recognized for their work."

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1,285 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, Peru, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. Nearly 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 131,000 students inducted annually.

Congratulations to the new members of Phi Theta Kappa and the other Clinton Community College honorees!